login   |    register
Modeling in General
General discussions about modeling topics.
FEATURE
www.printapart.com vendor
slodder
_VISITCOMMUNITY
North Carolina, United States
Joined: February 22, 2002
KitMaker: 11,718 posts
AeroScale: 305 posts
Posted: Friday, October 13, 2006 - 03:34 AM UTC
What do you do when you can''t buy an off the shelf part? You turn to www.printapart.com
Many of you saw these guys in Kansas city. Some in other threads. Here is a close look at who www.printapart.com really is.

You really do need to look into this technology.


Vendor

If you have comments or questions please post them here.

Thanks!
slodder
_VISITCOMMUNITY
North Carolina, United States
Joined: February 22, 2002
KitMaker: 11,718 posts
AeroScale: 305 posts
Posted: Friday, October 13, 2006 - 03:58 AM UTC
There is a review of the whole process to follow ... Stay tuned.
JPTRR
Staff MemberManaging Editor
RAILROAD MODELING
#051
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Tennessee, United States
Joined: December 21, 2002
KitMaker: 7,402 posts
AeroScale: 3,058 posts
Posted: Tuesday, December 26, 2006 - 10:28 AM UTC
Wow! Man O man O man, the possiblities...!
Gunny
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Pennsylvania, United States
Joined: July 13, 2004
KitMaker: 6,705 posts
AeroScale: 50 posts
Posted: Tuesday, December 26, 2006 - 04:02 PM UTC
Good breakdown, Scott. . .
I first saw this company reported here on the Kitmaker Network a short while back, and personally, was quite impressed and excited for the capabilities, as well!

Looking forward to further update articles, thanks mate!
~Mark
jimbrae
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Provincia de Lugo, Spain / España
Joined: April 23, 2003
KitMaker: 12,925 posts
AeroScale: 291 posts
Posted: Tuesday, December 26, 2006 - 04:06 PM UTC
Never mind the theoretical - here's the product in 'action'

http://www.armorama.com/modules.php?op=modload&name=News&file=article&sid=2062
slodder
_VISITCOMMUNITY
North Carolina, United States
Joined: February 22, 2002
KitMaker: 11,718 posts
AeroScale: 305 posts
Posted: Tuesday, December 26, 2006 - 04:15 PM UTC
It is very impressive and does have tons of potential. Heres a review I wrote on the process itself.
Review
docdios
Staff MemberEditor-at-Large
KITMAKER NETWORK
#036
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - West Midlands, United Kingdom
Joined: December 01, 2001
KitMaker: 1,990 posts
AeroScale: 23 posts
Posted: Tuesday, December 26, 2006 - 06:06 PM UTC
The possibilities are endless, I would be interested to see the cost of having items produced and if it can be done on a individual bases or would it have to be massed produced.

cheers

Keith Forsyth
slodder
_VISITCOMMUNITY
North Carolina, United States
Joined: February 22, 2002
KitMaker: 11,718 posts
AeroScale: 305 posts
Posted: Tuesday, December 26, 2006 - 07:11 PM UTC
Cost is a consideration.
My Canon barrel cost me around $20USD. The cost is dependant on the size and volume of material used.
The cool thing is you can design a part and 'spec' the cost before committing to it.

I think you would probably want to go with buiding a prototype out of this and then duplicating the prototype.

I did see where someone was actually building a length of Working tank tracks. He designed one link, then copied the 'part' in his software and duplicated it over and over and did it in a way that the pins were in the holes and it created a totally functional set of tracks - COOL.