login   |    register
Яusso-Soviэt Forum: Cold War Soviet Armor
For discussions related to cold war era Russo-Soviet armor.
How to model a T-55
retiredyank
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Arkansas, United States
Joined: June 29, 2009
KitMaker: 11,610 posts
AeroScale: 79 posts
Posted: Tuesday, January 31, 2012 - 10:29 AM UTC
Looking for references on the Afghan version of the T-55A. This is the variant term I have seen used for it. Searching Yahoo and Google turns up several photos of various versions of the T-55 and T-54, I just don't know which one I am looking for.
Spiderfrommars
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Milano, Italy
Joined: July 13, 2010
KitMaker: 3,845 posts
AeroScale: 25 posts
Posted: Tuesday, January 31, 2012 - 12:35 PM UTC

Quoted Text

Looking for references on the Afghan version of the T-55A. This is the variant term I have seen used for it. Searching Yahoo and Google turns up several photos of various versions of the T-55 and T-54, I just don't know which one I am looking for.



Sorry Mat

Where have you read that definition?

As far as I know a specific "Afghan" T-55 doesn't exist, there are several t-55 used by Afghan











You have to pay attention to the track links. As you can see usually they have Rmsh track links so their sprocket wheels are different from those which you can find in Tamiya kit
retiredyank
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Arkansas, United States
Joined: June 29, 2009
KitMaker: 11,610 posts
AeroScale: 79 posts
Posted: Tuesday, January 31, 2012 - 02:11 PM UTC
I just happened upon a blurb about the variant. I'm not sure where. Should I be able to use the Tamiya kit if I change the sprockets and tracks? Did the Russian presence in Afghanistan deploy a T-55?
pseudorealityx
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Georgia, United States
Joined: January 31, 2010
KitMaker: 2,191 posts
AeroScale: 11 posts
Posted: Tuesday, January 31, 2012 - 05:04 PM UTC

Quoted Text

I just happened upon a blurb about the variant. I'm not sure where. Should I be able to use the Tamiya kit if I change the sprockets and tracks? Did the Russian presence in Afghanistan deploy a T-55?




Miniarm makes a set with resin tracks and the correct sprocket. Trumpter and fruil make the tracks, but neither supply the correct sprocket. You can see the miniarm stuff on my t-55 thread.
Spiderfrommars
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Milano, Italy
Joined: July 13, 2010
KitMaker: 3,845 posts
AeroScale: 25 posts
Posted: Tuesday, January 31, 2012 - 06:49 PM UTC

Quoted Text

Did the Russian presence in Afghanistan deploy a T-55



Yes they did, but they were few of them (main tank was the t-62). Anyway Democratic Republic of Afghanistan had t-54 and t-55

http://otvaga2004.narod.ru/otvaga2004/wars0/wars_09.htm



Anyway if you need reference about russian stuff in Afghanistan look these OUTSTANDING posts written by Mike Podplesky

http://www.armorama.com/modules.php?op=modload&name=SquawkBox&file=index&req=viewtopic&topic_id=159924

http://www.armorama.com/modules.php?op=modload&name=SquawkBox&file=index&req=viewtopic&topic_id=159937&ord=&page=1

http://www.armorama.com/modules.php?op=modload&name=SquawkBox&file=index&req=viewtopic&topic_id=180586

zapper
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Skåne, Sweden
Joined: October 18, 2005
KitMaker: 744 posts
AeroScale: 1 posts
Posted: Wednesday, February 01, 2012 - 05:01 AM UTC

Quoted Text

Should I be able to use the Tamiya kit if I change the sprockets and tracks?


Like Mauro states they u s u a l l y have rmsh tracks, but some still have the older dmsh. So you have the choise of sticking to the Tamiya dmsh that comes in the box, buy AM link-by-link dmsh, or go for AM link-by-link rmsh w/ new sprocket.

Cheers,
/E
Spiderfrommars
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Milano, Italy
Joined: July 13, 2010
KitMaker: 3,845 posts
AeroScale: 25 posts
Posted: Saturday, February 04, 2012 - 04:07 AM UTC

Quoted Text


Quoted Text

I just happened upon a blurb about the variant. I'm not sure where. Should I be able to use the Tamiya kit if I change the sprockets and tracks? Did the Russian presence in Afghanistan deploy a T-55?




Miniarm makes a set with resin tracks and the correct sprocket. Trumpter and fruil make the tracks, but neither supply the correct sprocket. You can see the miniarm stuff on my t-55 thread.




Spiderfrommars
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Milano, Italy
Joined: July 13, 2010
KitMaker: 3,845 posts
AeroScale: 25 posts
Posted: Monday, February 13, 2012 - 07:06 PM UTC
Here you are some other walkarounds.

Russian exemplars with RMSH track links. Incredibly nice close up with large pics

http://io.ua/17978914p
(red squares below the images link to the High res Photos)

http://chinascout.ru/lib/field/park_of_victory.html

T-55 BP and T-55 TO

http://chinascout.ru/lib/field/tank_museum.html

Cheers
akkilas
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Greenland
Joined: June 04, 2012
KitMaker: 2 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Monday, June 04, 2012 - 07:01 AM UTC
awesome photos !!!! just what i was searching!
markchis
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Kuwait / لعربية
Joined: February 09, 2009
KitMaker: 467 posts
AeroScale: 60 posts
Posted: Sunday, November 25, 2012 - 07:28 PM UTC
Im just starting my build of T-55A -
using mainly the miniarm conversion set.

this thread is very good -

http://armorama.com/modules.php?op=modload&name=SquawkBox&file=index&req=viewtopic&topic_id=192644&page=1

BUT - im still confused - the picture of the engine deck of the miniarm deck



well it really does not appear as the reference photo -





I understand that Erik is saying to add part d-18 on top I suppose and I gather some hexagonal mesh is required?

also the rearmost louvres are larger and fewer with some of the actuating device visible.

I was hoping this conversion was straightforward but it appears more work is necessary of course.

many thanks

best
Mark
Removed by original poster on 03/08/18 - 21:06:15 (GMT).
Tanksami
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Victoria, Australia
Joined: August 06, 2011
KitMaker: 1,312 posts
AeroScale: 42 posts
Posted: Sunday, November 25, 2012 - 10:11 PM UTC
Hi Matt,

I am not sure if you received a PM I sent you a little asking some questions on how you built & sized your Polish gun mantlet.

I am about to try my first ever scratch build & was wondering if you would mind sharing how you made it & the sizes of it?

Any help you would be willing to give would be very greatly appreciated.

Thanks Mike
Spiderfrommars
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Milano, Italy
Joined: July 13, 2010
KitMaker: 3,845 posts
AeroScale: 25 posts
Posted: Monday, November 26, 2012 - 01:05 AM UTC
The main problem in Tamiya kit is about the hinge bar position.

As you can notice between the trapezoidal hatch and the main grilles there isn't enough room for the wading rail.

Unfortunately, you can't use your PE wading rail because it's wrong. The only way to fix the problem is to change the hinge bar position and to make a a new wading rail. To change the hinge bar position you have to fill the hole that are on the engine deck and make a pair of new ones a bit backwards.

It's quite boring but isn't impossible

zapper
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Skåne, Sweden
Joined: October 18, 2005
KitMaker: 744 posts
AeroScale: 1 posts
Posted: Monday, November 26, 2012 - 03:36 AM UTC

Quoted Text



I understand that Erik is saying to add part d-18 on top I suppose and I gather some hexagonal mesh is required?



Howdy Mark,

My point was that Miniarm made a update set for a not completely built model. (D-18 left out). Why make an update set that only works when you leave off parts that is necessary to complete the model?

Strange that Miniarm acctually saw that thread/error and confirmed that they should corrected it, and then ship the incorrect parts anyway. A bit sloppy if you ask me.

Cheers,
/E
markchis
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Kuwait / لعربية
Joined: February 09, 2009
KitMaker: 467 posts
AeroScale: 60 posts
Posted: Monday, November 26, 2012 - 05:17 AM UTC
this forum is great - because of the type replys and knowledge you guys share - many thanks Gents !

Matt - what you say makes sense. Its a sort of compromise to improve the look of the rear deck without radical surgery. So really someone needs to create an entirely new engine deck for a true Sov T-55A

more so - I see there is no easy solution except quite a bit of scratchbuilding - something very difficult without scale drawings I think.

Mauro - that sounds like a good plan - I will try that. I may use the miniarm rail as a template of sorts.

Erik - I see exactly what you mean now - it is a pity! Especially as all the other parts seem very good?

I feel near dread taking this on - with so very little references ! I will probably be asking more of your invaluable assistance !

best
Mark
bison126
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Correze, France
Joined: June 10, 2004
KitMaker: 5,329 posts
AeroScale: 9 posts
Posted: Monday, November 26, 2012 - 08:09 AM UTC
Mark,
get rid of the Miniarm wading rail and do your own with plastic card like I did for my Enigma.



It is a bit tedious but at least you will have the hinge bar inside the rail

Olivier
markchis
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Kuwait / لعربية
Joined: February 09, 2009
KitMaker: 467 posts
AeroScale: 60 posts
Posted: Monday, November 26, 2012 - 08:27 AM UTC
Olivier - I just got back from bench and read your post !

i did this as suggested.

added a strip inside piece D-41



cut out some of the upper hull



so it is like this now





I think this has solved it.

But I need to build up rear most louvres etc as Matt says.
Removed by original poster on 11/27/12 - 08:13:22 (GMT).
Removed by original poster on 11/27/12 - 08:14:53 (GMT).
Removed by original poster on 03/08/18 - 21:08:37 (GMT).
Removed by original poster on 03/08/18 - 21:09:29 (GMT).
Spiderfrommars
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Milano, Italy
Joined: July 13, 2010
KitMaker: 3,845 posts
AeroScale: 25 posts
Posted: Monday, November 26, 2012 - 08:47 PM UTC
Mark, that's a really clever solution, many thanks for sharing.
I might be wrong but the only thing which I still notice in your 3dh pic is that the Miniarm photo etched wading rail also looks too wide. There shouldn't be that gap between the frame and the edge of the engine deck



Tanksami
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Victoria, Australia
Joined: August 06, 2011
KitMaker: 1,312 posts
AeroScale: 42 posts
Posted: Monday, November 26, 2012 - 09:10 PM UTC
HI Matt,

Thank you so much for the link & reply I will certainly look at it & try & copy as much as I can & hopefully get something half as decent as what you did.

Cheers Mike
Removed by original poster on 03/08/18 - 21:08:55 (GMT).
Spiderfrommars
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Milano, Italy
Joined: July 13, 2010
KitMaker: 3,845 posts
AeroScale: 25 posts
Posted: Monday, November 26, 2012 - 09:52 PM UTC

Quoted Text

Matt - what you say makes sense. Its a sort of compromise to improve the look of the rear deck without radical surgery. So really someone needs to create an entirely new engine deck for a true Sov T-55A



Tamiya could have done 3 versions with some alternative parts rather than doing such a hybrid engine deck!

I like a lot this kit, especially the shape which is incredibly well done....but there are some mistakes. Also on the turret there's something which isn't perfect at all.
Probably the time has come for a new tool.
Maybe a new one made by Trumpeter or Meng