login   |    register
General Aircraft: Tips & Techniques
Discussions on specific A/C building techniques.
Air Compressors
LuckyBlunder
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Kansas, United States
Joined: February 02, 2006
KitMaker: 273 posts
AeroScale: 163 posts
Posted: Friday, February 22, 2008 - 09:32 PM UTC
Hi everybody -

I'm planning my workshop which will be in place by the end of this year and would like your thoughts on air compressors.

It wll be used in an upstairs bedroom(well ventilated of course) and must be quiet. It must run on 120 volts, 60 cycles.

Aside from those requirements it should do a good job of airbrushing.

What do you use - and if you could have any compressor you wanted, what would it be?

Thanks in advance,
Steve
29Foxtrot
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Victoria, Australia
Joined: September 19, 2003
KitMaker: 708 posts
AeroScale: 674 posts
Posted: Saturday, February 23, 2008 - 03:06 AM UTC
Steve,

Whatever compressor unit you decide on using, remember that it will need a moisture trap or be able to be fitted with one, on the air line between, the compressor and airbrush.
All compressor units have different design features and fittings.

The 1/8 HP types are about the same noise level as a household sewing machine.

This is my custom made Twin Holding Tanks Fitted 1/8 HP compressor, that I drive two airbrushes from and can be regulated from 2 - 65 PSI, but I run my Lenco 301 Gravity Feed airbrush from 12 - 15 PSI and my Paasche VL or H units from 15 - 20 PSI.



This 1/8HP unit is sold with one holding tank, automatic pressure switch fitted which cuts in at 20 and cuts off at 60lb and with both a regulator and moisture trap.
LuckyBlunder
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Kansas, United States
Joined: February 02, 2006
KitMaker: 273 posts
AeroScale: 163 posts
Posted: Saturday, February 23, 2008 - 08:58 AM UTC
Hi Rob -

Appreciate your thoughts. I'm looking at a rig that is similiar to yours on ebay right now. It doesn't have two tanks, just one directly under the compressor, but it comes with a moisture trap and regulator. I'll only need to get the connections, adapter, etc. to put on a hose.
matt
Staff MemberCampaigns Administrator
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New York, United States
Joined: February 28, 2002
KitMaker: 5,957 posts
AeroScale: 70 posts
Posted: Saturday, February 23, 2008 - 09:10 AM UTC
http://modelgeek.kitmaker.net/modules.php?op=modload&name=Sections&file=index&req=viewarticle&artid=1413
LuckyBlunder
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Kansas, United States
Joined: February 02, 2006
KitMaker: 273 posts
AeroScale: 163 posts
Posted: Saturday, February 23, 2008 - 11:56 AM UTC
Thanks, Matt

That's a good link.
jimmy77
_VISITCOMMUNITY
United States
Joined: February 27, 2008
KitMaker: 5 posts
AeroScale: 2 posts
Posted: Tuesday, February 26, 2008 - 01:33 PM UTC
Thanks for the info. Exactly what I needed too.

Jim