Hosted by Rowan Baylis
Fassburg Flyer
bbronov
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Washington, United States
KitMaker: 28 posts
AeroScale: 25 posts
Posted: Tuesday, July 26, 2016 - 10:31 AM UTC
Well, this is a little outside my comfort zone, primarily building Cold War jets up to modern...jets. So, in an effort to broaden my horizons a bit, have a look at the newer offerings by Airfix, and begin a long-delayed series of airlift aircraft (a soft spot of mine; I spent 25 years on heavies in the USAF). I also wanted to stay within the confines of the operational life of the USAF, so the Berlin Airlift seemed like a great place to start.

Airfix has been busy lately releasing a number of very welcomed subjects, and all newly tooled. This is my first build of a recent Airfix, and I've got to say I'm impressed. The fit has been amazing and the detail more than adequate for most purposes...granted, I've only just begun, but it's looking good so far. The biggest complaints I’ve had are that the fit of the interior bulkheads have been a little sloppy, and that there is a curious surface texture on most of the major exterior parts that needs to be knocked down if one is interested in applying a metallic finish. I’m not sure if this is an artifact of the process used to create the tooling or intentional, but it did require a couple of coats of Dutch Boy Acrylic primer and a couple of hours with 3200 grit sanding pads to knock down.