_GOTOBOTTOM
World War II
Discuss WWII and the era directly before and after the war from 1935-1949.
Hosted by Rowan Baylis
Tamiya 1/48 Jug
Peterpools
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New York, United States
KitMaker: 197 posts
AeroScale: 193 posts
Posted: Monday, July 18, 2016 - 12:30 AM UTC
One of the few 48th scale kits I completed last year, as I am mainly a large scale modeler. Tamiya's 48th scale Jug is a gem and was a pleasure to build. This time around, the NMF is all AK Xtreme Metals over their Black Base. The Jug was the first time I used AK products and I was very pleased on how well they worked, as all my other NMF's were skinned with Alclad.
Tamiya kit decals were used and along with Mr Setter and Mr Softer to insure they settled down. Paints were Model Air.
Thank You for checking in
Peter

Joel_W
Staff MemberAssociate Editor
AUTOMODELER
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New York, United States
KitMaker: 11,666 posts
AeroScale: 7,410 posts
Posted: Monday, July 18, 2016 - 02:31 AM UTC
Pete,
Another outstanding NMF. Damn, that Jug looks good with the contrasting black and white checkerboard cowl. If I remember correctly, it wasn't the easiest of decals to get to lay down like paint.

After looking at all your NMF finishes that you've posted, the AK system seems to lend itself to a more oxidized looking finish, while the Alcad II is as shiny as it can get.

Joel
AussieReg
AUTOMODELER
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Victoria, Australia
KitMaker: 8,156 posts
AeroScale: 3,756 posts
Posted: Monday, July 18, 2016 - 02:51 AM UTC
Lovely build Peter. I picked up some of the AK products recently, looking forward to trying them out, especially when I see what a great result they can produce!

Cheers, D
Peterpools
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New York, United States
Posted: Monday, July 18, 2016 - 03:18 AM UTC
JA