_GOTOBOTTOM
World War II
Discuss WWII and the era directly before and after the war from 1935-1949.
Hosted by Rowan Baylis
Hasegawa 1/72 A6M3 Zero Model 32 "Hamp"
kamadoma
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Philippines
KitMaker: 48 posts
AeroScale: 35 posts
Posted: Tuesday, January 19, 2016 - 07:33 PM UTC
Hello, guys. I'm a newbie modeller here who has yet to complete his first model. I have actually started building a Hobby Boss Ju 87 Stuka here. But seeing that it has three different paint colors, I've decided that it might not be the easiest paint job for a newbie. So I started a kit that seems easier, Hasegawa's 1/72 A6M3 Zero Model 32 "Hamp" and this one is part of the "Rabaul Combo" set with an A6M3 Model 22. I will be painting this in a single-tone color scheme of the captured unit with tail code Q-102.

Now I have a question here. I know that the inner parts of the landing gear covers should be the same color as the underside since the Model 32 were all Mitsubishi-built, but what about the wheel wells? Should they be in the underside color, or should they be in that aotake?
kamadoma
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Philippines
Posted: Saturday, January 30, 2016 - 05:28 AM UTC
Some progress in the past two weeks!

Test fitting:

Last weekend, I've painted the cockpit and the interior of the plane and applied to instrument panel decal. I actually forgot to apply one of the decals right by the side of the seat because I was excited to seal everything in.

Somehow this makes me realize how little detail can be seen on a 1/72 cockpit. Hasegawa's cockpit side walls are empty but it barely bothers me because you can't see much.

After I sealed in the fuselage halves, I did another test fit with a masked canopy.