_GOTOBOTTOM
World War II
Discuss WWII and the era directly before and after the war from 1935-1949.
Hosted by Rowan Baylis
Republic P-47M Thunderbolt, 1/48 (Tamiya)
Maelstrom
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Victoria, Australia
KitMaker: 20 posts
AeroScale: 19 posts
Posted: Thursday, September 11, 2014 - 10:07 PM UTC
Hi all, I'm relatively new to modelling & aeroscale but I wanted to share some photos from my recent p-47 thunderbolt build:

I would really love some feedback to see where I stand.

Areas where I feel I need a lot of help in are dealing with photo-etched parts. One this model I tried my hand at these ones made by eduard:

I live in Australia and it seems very difficult to obtain photo-etched parts locally. It also takes a long time to order them from overseas and this can really kill a lot of the momentum in a build.

But with regards to attaching photo-etched parts to models, I would really like to gain some insight into what is the correct type of adhesive to use. I read up that modelling glue is a no-no and a lot of people use regular super-glue. I personally didn't have much luck with the super-glue, so i'm very interested to learn how the veterans do it.

I also had a bit of trouble bending some of the photo-etched parts. Some of the seat-belt parts can be mighty tricky. is it just a matter of being very patient with tweezers, or am I missing something?

Thanks for reading my build. Sorry for weighting it wight a lot of questions at the end.

Dinuka
Mcleod
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Alberta, Canada
KitMaker: 1,028 posts
AeroScale: 939 posts
Posted: Friday, September 12, 2014 - 01:09 AM UTC
Firstly, welcome to Aeroscale, Dinuka. You'll like it here, even though its not overly busy.

You did a great job on your P-47. Perhaps a tad overdone on the weathering, as it has a dusty, stored look. Still looks great, though.