login   |    register

Scale Modeling Sponsors

See Your Ad Here!

Site Feedback
Have a suggestion or topic about this site? Post it here.
Hosted by Rowan Baylis
Temporarily re-enable editing of messages?
Emeritus
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Uusimaa, Finland
Joined: March 30, 2004
KitMaker: 2,832 posts
AeroScale: 1,552 posts
Posted: Tuesday, July 11, 2017 - 01:26 AM GMT+7
With Photobucket's sudden decision to drop 3rd party hosting for all but the highest tier paid accounts, would it be possible to enable editing of forum messages for a while to allow users to go back and fix their posts with working picture links?

While I'm not sure if I'd have the time or patiencce to replace every single picture I've ever posted here, I'd certainly appreciate the chance of being able to fix at least some of my newer posts, including one build log that I haven't posted in for over a year but still intend to finish.

Scrodes
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Ontario, Canada
Joined: July 22, 2012
KitMaker: 661 posts
AeroScale: 655 posts
Posted: Tuesday, July 11, 2017 - 03:55 AM GMT+7
Wait, what? The edit feature was disabled?

I can't imagine why.


Edit; works for me. I guess someone is listening up there.
Emeritus
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Uusimaa, Finland
Joined: March 30, 2004
KitMaker: 2,832 posts
AeroScale: 1,552 posts
Posted: Tuesday, July 11, 2017 - 04:32 AM GMT+7

Quoted Text

Edit; works for me. I guess someone is listening up there.


Oh yeah, I should have remembered to mention it; editing is possible for like 15 or 20 minutes after a message has been sent. After that it closes and edits can't be made anymore.
CMOT
Staff MemberEditor-in-Chief
ARMORAMA
#406
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - South West, United Kingdom
Joined: May 14, 2006
KitMaker: 10,022 posts
AeroScale: 229 posts
Posted: Tuesday, July 11, 2017 - 05:23 AM GMT+7
Editing is also possible on blogs by the author. Jim is the only person who can decide on this matter.
bzak
_VISITCOMMUNITY
California, United States
Joined: June 07, 2006
KitMaker: 245 posts
AeroScale: 78 posts
Posted: Tuesday, July 11, 2017 - 06:07 AM GMT+7
I guess Photobucket doesn't know I exist. I still see my pics in old posts on various sites. They haven't contacted me about paying for anything either.

Brian Riedel
justsendit
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Colorado, United States
Joined: February 24, 2014
KitMaker: 2,409 posts
AeroScale: 57 posts
Posted: Tuesday, July 11, 2017 - 06:21 AM GMT+7

Quoted Text

I guess Photobucket doesn't know I exist. I still see my pics in old posts on various sites. They haven't contacted me about paying for anything either.


Coming to your local theater soon — it's only a matter of time. ... ⏰
Emeritus
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Uusimaa, Finland
Joined: March 30, 2004
KitMaker: 2,832 posts
AeroScale: 1,552 posts
Posted: Tuesday, July 11, 2017 - 07:27 AM GMT+7

Quoted Text


Quoted Text

I guess Photobucket doesn't know I exist. I still see my pics in old posts on various sites. They haven't contacted me about paying for anything either.


Coming to your local theater soon — it's only a matter of time. ... ⏰


Can confirm - my pics showed as usual for a while after first seeing people commenting here about theirs not showing, but they too started displaying that ransom notice as well last weekend. Seems they're rolling out that change over a period of time.


Quoted Text

Editing is also possible on blogs by the author. Jim is the only person who can decide on this matter.


Oh, yes. Indeed! Gotta go over those and fix 'em up. Guess that leaves campaign threads for the second biggest concentrations of images posted (at least for me, since those tend to double as a collective build blog thread for participants.
B_Ernie
#266
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Queensland, Australia
Joined: October 14, 2012
KitMaker: 36 posts
AeroScale: 8 posts
Posted: Tuesday, July 11, 2017 - 09:43 AM GMT+7
The reason why some of you can still see your own pictures may be because they are still in your browser cache.
drabslab
_VISITCOMMUNITY
European Union
Joined: September 28, 2004
KitMaker: 1,896 posts
AeroScale: 1,465 posts
Posted: Tuesday, July 11, 2017 - 11:32 PM GMT+7

Quoted Text

Editing is also possible on blogs by the author. Jim is the only person who can decide on this matter.



Its also the only person who can do something more advanced than manually editing all forum posts and manually change all pictures.

This is a general problem for the whole kitmaker network and the best solution would be by inventing an automated procedure.
rdt1953
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New Jersey, United States
Joined: February 06, 2015
KitMaker: 624 posts
AeroScale: 563 posts
Posted: Wednesday, July 12, 2017 - 09:04 AM GMT+7

Quoted Text

Editing is also possible on blogs by the author. Jim is the only person who can decide on this matter.



I have just begun to repair my Hayabusa blog vandalized by PB. I signed up with ImageShack u.s. - approximately $ 20. Per year - let's hope they don't pull the same b.s. as PB. I will wait a bit to see if they are o.k with this before repairing the rest.

If you checked the box at the beginning stating this will be a build log then you can edit your own entries at any time but not the responses of others . I have also discovered that in my case the edit option is only available on the device that I created the blog on - in other words I posted the pics and text on my desktop and so that is where the edit icon appears- it doesn't appear on my iPad.
Those that may be more computer knowledgeable then I ( and that would be most people! ) may know the how's and why's of this.
At any rate, Image shack could not be any easier to use - fingers crossed here !
Richard
Emeritus
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Uusimaa, Finland
Joined: March 30, 2004
KitMaker: 2,832 posts
AeroScale: 1,552 posts
Posted: Wednesday, July 12, 2017 - 09:23 AM GMT+7

Quoted Text

The reason why some of you can still see your own pictures may be because they are still in your browser cache.


I initially thought about that possibility too and tried cache-clearing page refreshes (ctrl+F5) when I was seeing FB's ransom note in place of other users' pictures while mine still showed up alright, but that didn't change the situation.


Quoted Text

I have just begun to repair my Hayabusa blog vandalized by PB. I signed up with ImageShack u.s. - approximately $ 20. Per year - let's hope they don't pull the same b.s. as PB. I will wait a bit to see if they are o.k with this before repairing the rest.

If you checked the box at the beginning stating this will be a build log then you can edit your own entries at any time but not the responses of others . I have also discovered that in my case the edit option is only available on the device that I created the blog on - in other words I posted the pics and text on my desktop and so that is where the edit icon appears- it doesn't appear on my iPad.
Those that may be more computer knowledgeable then I ( and that would be most people! ) may know the how's and why's of this.
At any rate, Image shack could not be any easier to use - fingers crossed here !
Richard


Oh yeah, quite a chore going through build blogs and replacing the image links, isn't it? I've already gone through half-a-dozen of mine. Fortunately I've kept copies of my resized build blog pictures on my PC for most of my builds so I don't have to cuss with Photobucket's album download tool, which seems to be working quite unreliably, with my guess on the reason for that being masses of people overloading the feature when downloading their albums en masse getting ready to leave that sinking ship.

A shame that quite a few of my builds are posted in campaign threads where messages can't be edited by default.

Are you logged in on your iPad? AFAIK, you should be able to edit your build blog posts regardless of the device you're using, as long as you're logged in.
rdt1953
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New Jersey, United States
Joined: February 06, 2015
KitMaker: 624 posts
AeroScale: 563 posts
Posted: Wednesday, July 12, 2017 - 10:13 AM GMT+7
Eetu- you are correct - when I logged in the edit icon appeared - thanks for clearing that up - Richard the computer dinosaur
staff_Jim
Staff MemberPublisher
KITMAKER NETWORK
#002
_VISITCOMMUNITY
California, United States
Joined: December 15, 2001
KitMaker: 12,315 posts
AeroScale: 492 posts
Posted: Thursday, July 13, 2017 - 10:07 AM GMT+7
You will all be happy to hear that editing posts is now possible no matter how old or whether or not they are blog-type posts.

I am not sure we will keep this policy in effect long term, but for the time being you can all edit posts and replace pictures or hosting with new options.

I will be looking at what we can do down the road to offer easier photos options for users making posts in the forum. Something new and different needs to happen to keep forums relevant and that has been on my mind a lot more lately.

Thanks for your patience in this matter.

Cheers,
Jim

test
Emeritus
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Uusimaa, Finland
Joined: March 30, 2004
KitMaker: 2,832 posts
AeroScale: 1,552 posts
Posted: Thursday, July 13, 2017 - 09:23 PM GMT+7
Excellent! Much appreciated.
goodn8
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Berlin, Germany
Joined: October 12, 2008
KitMaker: 450 posts
AeroScale: 436 posts
Posted: Friday, July 14, 2017 - 07:23 PM GMT+7
Fantastic, Jim!
Thanks a lot, started with my "Harrier-Campaign-Posts". Quite time consuming but works great! Now have to do some other edits little by little.

Again thanks,
Thomas
BlackWidow
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Joined: August 09, 2009
KitMaker: 1,007 posts
AeroScale: 904 posts
Posted: Saturday, July 15, 2017 - 07:27 AM GMT+7
Thanks a lot, Jim! I really appreciate your help for us all. Just checked my Assembly Line Thread and noticed the Edit icon. While I am still on holidays I cannot edit my thread now but will start after my return in August. There are 10 pages waiting to be repaired.

Greetings from sunny Latvia!
Torsten
165thspc
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Kentucky, United States
Joined: April 13, 2011
KitMaker: 6,127 posts
AeroScale: 16 posts
Posted: Saturday, July 15, 2017 - 07:31 AM GMT+7
The edit icon now appears on all my posts but hitting that button just takes me to a blank Armorama page and nothing happens after that.
Vodnik
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Warszawa, Poland
Joined: March 26, 2003
KitMaker: 4,006 posts
AeroScale: 75 posts
Posted: Saturday, July 15, 2017 - 07:54 AM GMT+7

Quoted Text

The edit icon now appears on all my posts but hitting that button just takes me to a blank Armorama page and nothing happens after that.



Confirmed - as Michael wrote: it doesn't work...
Vodnik
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Warszawa, Poland
Joined: March 26, 2003
KitMaker: 4,006 posts
AeroScale: 75 posts
Posted: Saturday, July 15, 2017 - 07:55 AM GMT+7
Aaaand it doesn't work even for most recent and fresh posts either now
staff_Jim
Staff MemberPublisher
KITMAKER NETWORK
#002
_VISITCOMMUNITY
California, United States
Joined: December 15, 2001
KitMaker: 12,315 posts
AeroScale: 492 posts
Posted: Saturday, July 15, 2017 - 09:09 AM GMT+7
Okay... guess I will have to revert to an old test account. It's working fine for me but I may be getting some sort of mod powers exception or something.

Jim
staff_Jim
Staff MemberPublisher
KITMAKER NETWORK
#002
_VISITCOMMUNITY
California, United States
Joined: December 15, 2001
KitMaker: 12,315 posts
AeroScale: 492 posts
Posted: Saturday, July 15, 2017 - 09:31 AM GMT+7
Okay... I just remember why I dred making changes to the forum code.

It *should* be working now.

Give it another go.

Thanks,
Jim
Antilles
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Joined: March 22, 2015
KitMaker: 434 posts
AeroScale: 418 posts
Posted: Saturday, July 15, 2017 - 09:40 AM GMT+7
Works greatly Jim!

Thanks a lot for Your work! Let´s keep these threads alive!

Oliver