login   |    register
User Support
This forum deals with technical issues, email problems or other support related issues.
Adding pictures to message board
drewgimpy
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Utah, United States
Joined: January 24, 2002
KitMaker: 835 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Friday, April 26, 2002 - 06:10 AM UTC
I would like to post a picture of some concertina wire I made and get some opinions on it. I don't know how to do this. I thought it had been discussed but couldn't find it. Please let me know how to do this.
Kencelot
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Florida, United States
Joined: December 27, 2001
KitMaker: 4,268 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Friday, April 26, 2002 - 06:23 AM UTC
Andrew, just enclose the URL address of the picture you want to add with these

Okay nevermind that idea of me showing them to you because it wants to put a pic in here...hmmm. When adding a reply, you will see a link under the message window
"bbcode", it's underlined. Just click on it to see the instructions.
staff_Jim
Staff MemberPublisher
KITMAKER NETWORK
#002
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New Hampshire, United States
Joined: December 15, 2001
KitMaker: 12,472 posts
AeroScale: 507 posts
Posted: Friday, April 26, 2002 - 06:50 AM UTC
Andrew,
Is the image already out on the Internet somewhere? That would be the first step.

Then as Ken said you can use the BBcode IMG tag system to bring up the image. You can also just use plain HTML:


Code:


<img src="http://www.sitewhereimageis.com/imagedirectory/imagename.gif">




See if that helps. If not let us know.

Jim
Kencelot
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Florida, United States
Joined: December 27, 2001
KitMaker: 4,268 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Friday, April 26, 2002 - 06:58 AM UTC
Thanks for the help there Jim! I was laughing after I posted the above, as I was getting the little boxes with the red X! LOL I could'nt put the bbcode in here without that happening.
drewgimpy
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Utah, United States
Joined: January 24, 2002
KitMaker: 835 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Friday, April 26, 2002 - 07:49 AM UTC
the picture isn't on the internet yet. I took it with a digital camera and it is on my computer. I don't have anywhere to put it on the internet. I was hoping I could upload them here. I suppose I could do a little research and create a tripod site (I think I remember how).
staff_Jim
Staff MemberPublisher
KITMAKER NETWORK
#002
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New Hampshire, United States
Joined: December 15, 2001
KitMaker: 12,472 posts
AeroScale: 507 posts
Posted: Friday, April 26, 2002 - 11:52 AM UTC
Andrew,
If you want the image posted here and it's model/reference related, just send it to me via email to content@armorama.com. It's a new email address I am going to attempt to get everyone using for submissions. Hopefully. Maybe.

Jim
maxpain
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Australia
Joined: April 03, 2002
KitMaker: 109 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Sunday, May 05, 2002 - 01:29 PM UTC
Just checking if my new sig works :-)
Arthur
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - South West, United Kingdom
Joined: March 13, 2002
KitMaker: 2,454 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Sunday, May 05, 2002 - 07:42 PM UTC
Well,i'm still trying,think i'll give it a rest and shoot off to the pub,my fingers are getting sore.
in frustration
Arthur
maxpain
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Australia
Joined: April 03, 2002
KitMaker: 109 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Sunday, May 05, 2002 - 09:48 PM UTC
What are you trying to do ??
TreadHead
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Colorado, United States
Joined: January 12, 2002
KitMaker: 5,000 posts
AeroScale: 370 posts
Posted: Sunday, May 05, 2002 - 10:06 PM UTC
Lame attempt at including a random pic...

OK, maybe not. How do I post a pic that I have on MY computer. I don't have anyway of knowing the http address?
Anyone?

Tread.
Kencelot
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Florida, United States
Joined: December 27, 2001
KitMaker: 4,268 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Sunday, May 05, 2002 - 10:11 PM UTC
It needs a URL address, in other words - it needs to be on the "internet".
If you email me the pic, I'll upload it to my little webpage so you could add it to your sig. line or whatever. I'm sure Jim would "host" it too...if you ask nicely.
maxpain
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Australia
Joined: April 03, 2002
KitMaker: 109 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Sunday, May 05, 2002 - 10:25 PM UTC
Yeah.. you cannot post it directly from your harddrive.

You can get cheap and free web hosting from various places... geocities to name one.

There is also nifty forums which let you upload pictures to your post directly.. that can also be misused :-) by getting the url of the picture (right-click on pic - then select properties and copy the url) and posting that url on another page withing the html img (image) tags.

That basically loads this page and the pic from the other page... Its not all that hard.

http://www.webmonkey.com has nifty tutorials for the ambitious web designer and beginners.. if you have a specific question - just ask and I see how I can be of help...
Kencelot
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Florida, United States
Joined: December 27, 2001
KitMaker: 4,268 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Sunday, May 05, 2002 - 10:37 PM UTC
Tread, being the hockey fan you are, you could have one like this:



Pretty cool ehh?

If you're a Starwars fan like Yodaman, one like this would be cool too:



YodaMan
_VISITCOMMUNITY
United States
Joined: February 21, 2002
KitMaker: 1,561 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Sunday, May 05, 2002 - 10:57 PM UTC
Kenc, awesome animation! I think Tread would've like the hockey one better if it was an Avs player being on the recieving end of the punch! :-)
That X-wing is doing the 'Darklighter Spin' maneuvar (sp?) if I ever saw it!

YodaMan
GO RED WINGS!!! CRUSH ALL WHO COME BEFORE YOU!!!
ESPECIALLY THE AVS!!! LEAVE THEM BURIED ON THE SLOPES OF THE ROCKIES!!!
HA HA HAAAAAAAAA!!!!!
Arthur
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - South West, United Kingdom
Joined: March 13, 2002
KitMaker: 2,454 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Monday, May 06, 2002 - 02:03 AM UTC
i have tried both bb code and html,but dont seem to get it right,i was trying to lift an image from my web site.When the cursor moves over an image,is the text displayed at thebottom of the page the one inserted in the html
cheers
Arthur
Arthur
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - South West, United Kingdom
Joined: March 13, 2002
KitMaker: 2,454 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Monday, May 06, 2002 - 02:10 AM UTC
PS.....Ken.....stop doing that your making me climb the walls
Arthur
Kencelot
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Florida, United States
Joined: December 27, 2001
KitMaker: 4,268 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Monday, May 06, 2002 - 05:20 AM UTC
Arthur, if the pic you want to use is on your page, try this:
Scroll the mouse pointer over the image, "right" click, a dialog box will appear, scroll to the bottom of that window to "properties". Near the middle of the next window will be the URL address for that image. Move the pointer over to the very beginning of the URL address, (you will know you are at the beginning when your pointer changes from a pointer to a text icon - a tall skinny capital letter i) press and hold the "left" mouse button and scroll to the end of the address. It should now be highlighted. (You need to have the entire address highlighted, just be sure to scroll down a little to make sure you get all of it. It should end with something like .jpg or .gif ) Now once it is highlighted move the pointer over the highlighted text and right click again, another little dialog box will appear, click on copy.
Come back to your post or signature page (hopefully you did the above from a second window) and type WITHOUT THE SPACES [ i m g ]
Now place your pointer in front of the code you typed w/o the spaces, and right click, another dialog box appears, click "paste". At the end of the pasted address type WITHOUT THE SPACES [ / i m g ]

Questions? Please fire away if you have any. :-)
maxpain
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Australia
Joined: April 03, 2002
KitMaker: 109 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Monday, May 06, 2002 - 03:01 PM UTC
Hey Kancelot.. maybe we should write a little article on this with pics and so on.. should help the masses to get their pics online and we have more stuff to look at
Arthur
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - South West, United Kingdom
Joined: March 13, 2002
KitMaker: 2,454 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Tuesday, May 07, 2002 - 04:14 AM UTC
Hey Ken ....do you actually type without the spaces,tried that and got a red cross.
Frank......That sounds like a good idea
Cheers
Arthur
Kencelot
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Florida, United States
Joined: December 27, 2001
KitMaker: 4,268 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Tuesday, May 07, 2002 - 05:03 AM UTC
Okay Arthur you're halfway there. No spaces there. A red "X" could mean that the address is incorrect. At least it's now trying to display an image. Double check the URL address, and make sure it's pasted fully.
See if that helps. Let me know.
TreadHead
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Colorado, United States
Joined: January 12, 2002
KitMaker: 5,000 posts
AeroScale: 370 posts
Posted: Tuesday, May 07, 2002 - 09:44 AM UTC
Nice animated .gif's there Kenc', you're very talented at this , aren't you?

Wish I was half as talented. I see all the other guys including all kinds of things in their posts, very interesting stuff, most of it. I'm just waiting for someone to include their mom's recipe for chicken noodle soup or something! Animated too!

One of these days I'm going to have to sit down with you and have you 'show me how'. I constantly have stuff I want to post, but don't know how. Gunnie and I have been working on our GunTrucks, and he has been absolutely PRICELESS with his full-bored help, complete with pics and extremely helpful text.....but me, I feel like my hands are tied or something because I cannot reciprocate...

Tread....
Arthur
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - South West, United Kingdom
Joined: March 13, 2002
KitMaker: 2,454 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Wednesday, May 08, 2002 - 02:09 AM UTC
Tread...........know how you feel.
Arthur
Arthur
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - South West, United Kingdom
Joined: March 13, 2002
KitMaker: 2,454 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Wednesday, May 08, 2002 - 02:32 AM UTC
Ken ......when i click on my site it says i have a syntax error can that be a problem.
Arthur
Kencelot
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Florida, United States
Joined: December 27, 2001
KitMaker: 4,268 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Wednesday, May 08, 2002 - 03:55 AM UTC
I don't see how that could cause a problem.

Is this something you are trying to get to show here?





If there is perhaps something from your site that you would like to show here, whether it's your signature line - which shows up on all your posts or just something to show in a particular post, let me know what image it is and I'll get the exact URL address needed for it.
YodaMan
_VISITCOMMUNITY
United States
Joined: February 21, 2002
KitMaker: 1,561 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Wednesday, May 08, 2002 - 04:04 AM UTC
Don't you just LOVE computers???



YodaMan
Go Red Wings!!!