_GOTOBOTTOM
Start Here (for Beginners)
This forum is for younger modelers or people just starting out in the hobby.
Decal tips
goldstandard
_VISITCOMMUNITY
California, United States
KitMaker: 208 posts
AeroScale: 186 posts
Posted: Tuesday, May 01, 2007 - 12:19 PM UTC
Since I haven't seen much activity here, I have decided for the benefit of beginners to post some tips about decaling. I am somewhat new to the hobby myself so these tips are by no means everything there is to know about decal application.

1. Always prepare properly before applying the decals. I always cut up the decal sheet so that each piece is isolated and ready to dip in the water. You want to make sure the surface you apply the decals to is nice and glossy, to help minimize silvering. Silvering is the occurence of small air bubbles under the surface of the decal which ruins the painted on effect you are striving for.

2. Have the right tools. At a minimum this is a container of water, a sharp hobby knife, a brush, decal softener or solvent, (I prefer something mild, it's more forgiving) and Future or Klear, any good acrylic sealer will do. (It helps protect the paint too, one time I used my decal softener on a gloss paint job where I omitted the Future, and it softened the enamel paint as well!) A piece of cloth or paper towel to soak up excess water is handy as well.

3. Allow the decal enough time for the water to soak all the way through the backing, so it slides easily off the paper. When ready, hold the decal in the desired spot over your model, and use a brush to slide the decal into position. A trick I learned to aid final positioning is to slightly wet the surface where the decal will be placed. This way you can more easily slide the decal without tearing it.