_GOTOBOTTOM
Start Here (for Beginners)
This forum is for younger modelers or people just starting out in the hobby.
Working with resin parts
Philippus
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - South East, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 182 posts
AeroScale: 65 posts
Posted: Tuesday, April 17, 2007 - 05:37 PM UTC
I have an aftermarket cockpit for my Tamiya 1:48 He 219-A7 Uhu which I got this morning.

I have never worked with resin before, so is thre anything I should know before I begin tonight?

One question I have is, do I need to use CA glue or will normal poly cement do the trrick?

I am confident that I can do it I was just wondering if there is anything I should know before I begin.

Thanks in advance,
Philip.

EDIT: This is the cockpit I have.
Phantom2
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Östergötland, Sweden
KitMaker: 708 posts
AeroScale: 678 posts
Posted: Tuesday, April 17, 2007 - 11:56 PM UTC
Hi!

Working with resin is not so different compared to "normal" plastic.

Before you do anything, clean all resin parts in some dishing detergent to get rid of mould releasing substances.
Let dry overnight.

You must use a CA glue as the ordinary plastic glue doesn´t work here.
I use only CA, but some also uses epoxy glues, this will work for larger surfaces and getting a longer time to adjust the alignment.

For smaller surfaces like a cockpit, I use liquid CA or/and a CA Gel for smaller etched parts.

You´ll have to cut and sand the resin, be careful to avoid the dust as this is very unhealthy to get in your lungs!
Always work in a well ventilated space or use water to reduce the dust.

The plastic is not dangerous, but the fine dust can be.

Beware of the fit with these parts!
They are often designed to a specific kit, but the fit is not always as good as the plastic components!

Sand, file and dry fit are the most important things here!
Go slowly and be careful, resin is a VERY brittle type of plastic and breaks all too easy!

You can paint by brush and get a decent result.