Nakajima B6N2 (Jill) 1/48th build
Mist086
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Iowa, United States
KitMaker: 31 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Monday, August 28, 2006 - 08:15 PM UTC
Hello all!

THis is my first build since i've gotten back into the hobby. It's an Nakajima B6N2 Carrier Attack Bomber Tenzen (Jill) Type 12 1/48th scale by Hasagawa. This is the first plane of the many of the IJN line i'm gonna do.

If there are any pitfalls i should know about, please let me know.

1 Question if i may. On the instrument panel, do most of you just drybrush the dials, or do you use a wash?

Thanks and i'll update with progress pics
Holdfast
Staff MemberPresident
IPMS-UK KITMAKER BRANCH
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - South West, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 8,581 posts
AeroScale: 4,913 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 29, 2006 - 12:53 AM UTC
Hi Jim,
I have the B5N2 (Kate) which is similar. The instrument panel on mine is nicely done and I would normaly paint and dry brush it. However, in my kit the instrument decals look pretty good, as they are coloured, rather than just black and white. You also have a choice of clear or black background. I would be very tempted to use the "clear" decal, but if you do this you would need to get the decals to "snuggle" down really well.
I couldn't tell you if there are any pitfalls but my kit looks like it's an excellent model and I wouldn't envisage any, real, problems. If you do encounter any just hope back in here and ask away
Mal
Mist086
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Iowa, United States
Posted: Tuesday, August 29, 2006 - 01:53 AM UTC
Mucho thanks. I have ordered MicroSet and MicroSol. Hopefully those will help "snuggle" the decal on inst panel. I'll give it a go. If it doesn't work, on to the 3 bristle brush i go
Steelheader
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Michigan, United States
KitMaker: 46 posts
AeroScale: 29 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 29, 2006 - 03:37 AM UTC