_GOTOBOTTOM
Start Here (for Beginners)
This forum is for younger modelers or people just starting out in the hobby.
Advice needed: Building a modern Helicopter
helkaissy
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Al Qahirah, Egypt / لعربية
KitMaker: 244 posts
AeroScale: 37 posts
Posted: Wednesday, December 25, 2013 - 10:48 PM UTC
Hello to all Aeroscale members,

I am an Egyptian modeler, I have been modeling for just one year now and have mainly done armored vehicles and tanks and dioramas. Now as part of my next diorama I am about to build the "Apache AH64D longbow" and this will be my first helicopter build (i have honestly been afraid to touch this kit for some time) and I have some questions so I thought to seek the advice of the more experienced plane modelers here:

1- My first question is regarding the painting of the Apache, since the color used will be dark olive green and it is quite a dark tone, I have selected the Tamiya XF57 color for it, here is how it looks in reality:

and this is the Tamiya color selected:

does it make sense to make preshading in that case? for example if I use black preshading will it really show from behind that color? how do I make sure the model doesn't come out too single tone if the dominant color is this green? do I need to apply a wash after the base color? what color of wash should I use?

2- my Second question is since the Apache is a rather modern and expensive helicopter and is quite well preserved by most armies and is usually in crisp condition, does it make sense in this case to apply some weathering to it? and if yes what type of weathering do you suggest? chiping, dust, mud, sand?

3- Are there any tutorials somewhere about specifically building helicopters? I tried looking but couldn't find any

Sorry for so many questions but this is my first try and its quite a large and expensive kit at 1/35 scale and I want to get it right.

Thanks in Advance

Hussein
helkaissy
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Posted: Wednesday, December 25, 2013 - 10:51 PM UTC