_GOTOBOTTOM
Start Here (for Beginners)
This forum is for younger modelers or people just starting out in the hobby.
Humbrol or tamiya?
Matthew9447
_VISITCOMMUNITY
United States
KitMaker: 6 posts
AeroScale: 6 posts
Posted: Thursday, June 20, 2013 - 03:29 PM UTC
Hello, I am new to this hobby, and I have built a few kits before(ending in disaster), but I've learned from mistakes along the way and with a ton of research and reading I think I am ready to tackle another kit and hopefully it will not end In disaster like before. For this kit, I am planning on hand painting it since mom would not be very happy buying an airbrush and compressor with all the other tools I am going to have to pickup(and paint also), so I am saving the airbrush for later. My question is, I already have a few tamiya paints but I am going to have to buy colors I don't already have, and ive heard tamiya is better with an airbrush, so I'm wondering if I should get humbrol instead for hand painting, but I would also like to know what I should be paying attention to if I end up using tamiya. Thnx!
Jessie_C
_VISITCOMMUNITY
British Columbia, Canada
KitMaker: 6,965 posts
AeroScale: 6,247 posts
Posted: Thursday, June 20, 2013 - 03:43 PM UTC
Hi Matt,

Welcome to Aeroscale!

Tamiya paints need special help to hand brush, since they're designed to be solvents for themselves. This means that if you brush over a partially-dried bit of paint the new paint will begin to take the old paint off, ruining the paint job.

Humbrol paint brushes better because it's an enamel. You will need thinner formulated for enamel paints to clean your brushes off with, you'll need to make sure that you stir the paint thoroughly in order to get the pigment particles suspended properly in the carrier, and you'll also need to make sure you've got good ventilation in your workspace because the fumes from enamel paints and thinners are toxic; they can quite easily make you very sick.
Littorio
_VISITCOMMUNITY