_GOTOBOTTOM
Start Here (for Beginners)
This forum is for younger modelers or people just starting out in the hobby.
Help to choose a modern aircraft as my first
newnikonian
_VISITCOMMUNITY
India / भारत
KitMaker: 279 posts
AeroScale: 4 posts
Posted: Sunday, September 09, 2012 - 10:39 PM UTC
Greetings Everyone,

I think this is my first post in Aeroscale
I am an armor modeler and I can rate myself as an advance beginner. I did few gundam, Ma.K and one car and around 20 armors in all. I also did some scratch enhancements / simple stuff like fenders / Ammo boxes etc. Of late I was looking to build something different and I started spending more time here rather than in Armorama. Some of the aircraft models / details / camo schemes I see in this site are amazing. I have tried my best to narrow down on a kit to start off has become increasingly difficult.

Even though I build mostly ww2 stuff in armors, I would love to start off with a modern aircraft such as F16s / Su-xx / or anything. I was thinking of starting with a 1/48 scale instead of 1/72. May be go for just a AM cockpit, so that I will be able to try my hand in painting the interiors / dials. I am not sure whether it is an over kill especially being a first aircraft? I need your help to decide. Being in India (where there is no modeling shop. Yah, not even one) every order/buy/ shipment cycle take at least one month, I wanted to get the correct stuff so that I can start soon. As economical as possible. I can order from either from HobbyEasy or LuckyModel. I could get 2 excellent armor kits for 100$ including shipping but I see planes are expensive

I have all the tools including airbrush and enough supplies (might order the required paint, am stuff along with the kit). I would try not to scratch / mod on my first kit. Need your suggestion and help to choose a good OOB kit and a suitable cockpit set

Appreciate all your help, advice and suggestions.

Have a Great Day
Mukund
pigsty
_VISITCOMMUNITY
United Kingdom