_GOTOBOTTOM
Start Here (for Beginners)
This forum is for younger modelers or people just starting out in the hobby.
Brush only models.
JayShack
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Victoria, Australia
KitMaker: 42 posts
AeroScale: 30 posts
Posted: Thursday, August 11, 2011 - 11:32 AM UTC
Hi all
Im new to modelling after 14 ove high school and such ive decided to get back into it because, put simply i spend too much time on the computer and want to do something more satisfying than headshotting someone on a computer game

Anyway enough about me, my question is can models be painted with a paintbrush to the detail and intricacy of airbrushes, and how is it best achieved? (i dont have money for an airbrush due to playing professional paintball).

I have enough skill and patience with a brush from my days of playing with warhammer to paint extremely detailed and intricate models, so im looking more for final quality over skill level required.

P.S: sorry if this thread is a bit vague or confusing.
cheers
Jay
Siderius
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Tennessee, United States
KitMaker: 1,747 posts
AeroScale: 1,673 posts
Posted: Thursday, August 11, 2011 - 11:59 AM UTC
Hello from the United States Jay! You can never fully replicate the finish you achieve with an airbrush using a brush, they are just two different type of animals so to speak. You can get a good, brush stroke free finish with the Model Master Acryl paints. I would stay away from Tamiya for brush painting, I think they are too thick and I've found them not the easiest to thin either.

Pick up a model, say 72 scale, a Spitfire for instance, then try your hand at brushing it. There are many different techniques to be learned in model building, so if you have any questions just ask. Good luck and most importantly have fun! Russell
JayShack
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Victoria, Australia
Posted: Thursday, August 11, 2011 - 12:04 PM UTC
Thanks for the fast response!