_GOTOBOTTOM
Start Here (for Beginners)
This forum is for younger modelers or people just starting out in the hobby.
Advice needed on cementing fuselage
Hisham
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Al Qahirah, Egypt / لعربية
KitMaker: 6,856 posts
AeroScale: 77 posts
Posted: Friday, July 22, 2011 - 11:16 AM UTC
I'm still new at working with aircraft kits and I need some advice from the experienced modelers. I use Tamiya extra thin cement.. and when I try to cement the two halves of the fuselage.. by the time I brush the cement all around.. the spot where I started from becomes dry.. so, do you guys usually use the thick type of cement, or do you use the thin cement but with capillary action method.. like holding the two halves together then touching the brush to the seam to let the cement run along the length of the fuselage... assuming that would even work??

Anyway, I'm just trying to see what the more experienced modelers have found to be better.. or more practical.

Thank you
Hisham
Jessie_C
_VISITCOMMUNITY
British Columbia, Canada
KitMaker: 6,965 posts
AeroScale: 6,247 posts
Posted: Friday, July 22, 2011 - 11:39 AM UTC
It's always best to use thin cement and let it run along the seam by capilary action. You get the joint completely filled, the cement doesn't get a chance to dry, it's a stronger joint afterwards, and you'll use less filler, not to mention less cement.
SellSword
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Indiana, United States
KitMaker: 167 posts
AeroScale: 141 posts
Posted: Friday, July 22, 2011 - 04:19 PM UTC
http://aeroscale.kitmaker.net/forums/111677&page=1