_GOTOBOTTOM
Start Here (for Beginners)
This forum is for younger modelers or people just starting out in the hobby.
Cockpit help please...
jnorman55
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - North East, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 17 posts
AeroScale: 16 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 03, 2010 - 03:16 AM UTC
I am a relative beginner, and am working on Tamiya's 1:48 Mosquito. It is a beautiful plane and I want to do it proud. I have painted the cockpit in the basic colours(Tamiya acryllics) and want to weather it. I am planning to dry brush it first in the appropriate places, then putting on a coat of future before putting on a wash. Is this right? Is the wash necessary? Should the wash go on first? Will the wash mask the effect of the dry brushing? I am suffering from lack of experience, and dont want to make a mess of this plane, having wrecked my last 2 models with bad decisions regarding the painting.

All advice gratefully received,
James.
md72
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Washington, United States
KitMaker: 4,950 posts
AeroScale: 3,192 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 03, 2010 - 03:38 AM UTC
James, I Am Not An Expert, but I would suggest a wash before dry brushing. Part of the point of the wash is to simulate shadows that create the appearance of depth. I'm thinking that a wash after highlighting would dull the highlights. Use the future as a barrier between treatments. Especially if the second one might dissolve the first one. Probably not needed for acrylic over enamel or ink over either finish. Definitely between treatments with the same solvent and enamel over acrylic.

Hope this helps.
thegirl
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Alberta, Canada
KitMaker: 6,743 posts
AeroScale: 6,151 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 03, 2010 - 06:08 AM UTC
Hi James .