_GOTOBOTTOM
Start Here (for Beginners)
This forum is for younger modelers or people just starting out in the hobby.
Masking Question!
ddufault
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Ontario, Canada
KitMaker: 11 posts
AeroScale: 10 posts
Posted: Sunday, June 20, 2010 - 02:47 AM UTC
Hello everyone!

Im new to modelling and have just purchased my first airbrush. Im finishing a Spitfire Mk II with a camoflage pattern reflected by pictures in an old book.

Im painting with acrylics and have masked and painted the lighter color first, how long should I have to wait to mask over paint without pulling it off? Do I need special masking tape or will regular painters tape work? Thanks!
vanize
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 1,954 posts
AeroScale: 1,163 posts
Posted: Sunday, June 20, 2010 - 03:37 AM UTC
generally speaking, the least aggressive tape (least "stick") that does the job (still sticks to curves and such) is the best tape to use.
thegirl
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Alberta, Canada
KitMaker: 6,743 posts
AeroScale: 6,151 posts
Posted: Sunday, June 20, 2010 - 04:50 AM UTC
You can use painters tape , but make sure the edges are burnished down really well or you will get bleeding under the tape . You can seal the edges with a coat of gloss or even future will do the trick . It's best to wait for 24 hours before masking the next colour to go on . Some times I will wait up to 48 hours to be on the safe side . If you are able to get Tamiya mmasking tape which is the best out there and will save a lot of hassles in the end .
ddufault
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Ontario, Canada
Posted: Sunday, June 20, 2010 - 08:50 AM UTC
Thanks for the tips I appreciate it very much! Luckily I even have future kicking around, the applications seem to be endless! Cheers and thanks again!
Siderius
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Tennessee, United States
KitMaker: 1,747 posts
AeroScale: 1,673 posts
Posted: Sunday, June 20, 2010 - 10:09 AM UTC