_GOTOBOTTOM
Start Here (for Beginners)
This forum is for younger modelers or people just starting out in the hobby.
Mottling Effects
FLAKATTAK
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - North, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 53 posts
AeroScale: 33 posts
Posted: Monday, March 08, 2010 - 05:46 AM UTC
Hello Guys, I am just starting to do a Revell 1:72 FOCKE WULF FW 190F-8 using brushes as opposed to an airbrush & what I need to know Is how to get the mottled effect like you see on many German WW2 aircraft. I am new to modelling so I dont know the many tricks, I was thinking along the lines of using a sponge to dab on the mottling effect, but would be very Interested to know what you guys do to get this effect...

Regards.
Sean..
Siderius
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Tennessee, United States
KitMaker: 1,747 posts
AeroScale: 1,673 posts
Posted: Monday, March 08, 2010 - 01:52 PM UTC
Hey Sean, although I've never tried it I have seen sponge application of paint done to good effect for mottling on German aircraft. Try it out on an old kit and see what you think. Russell
JPTRR
Staff MemberManaging Editor
RAILROAD MODELING
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Tennessee, United States
KitMaker: 7,772 posts
AeroScale: 3,175 posts
Posted: Monday, March 08, 2010 - 05:31 PM UTC
Hi Sean,

A zillion years ago Revell had their Master Modeling Club, and it had an occasional magazine (much like Airfix's modeling magazine. One of the topics was using sponges to do mottling on their 1/72 Bf 109.

Sponges, even those with a small hole pattern, will give a hard edge mottle. I used to use a fine flat brush; I would paint the main splotch, then lightly dry brush around it, or stipple its edges. Not as soft as an airbrush, but can be convincing. And you can control the paint build-up better than with a sponge.
stonar
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - West Midlands, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 337 posts
AeroScale: 309 posts
Posted: Tuesday, March 09, 2010 - 07:56 AM UTC