_GOTOBOTTOM
Start Here (for Beginners)
This forum is for younger modelers or people just starting out in the hobby.
Any tips for masking canopies?
UM83CANES
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Virginia, United States
KitMaker: 275 posts
AeroScale: 19 posts
Posted: Wednesday, December 02, 2009 - 06:04 AM UTC
Hey all,

I’m still fairly new to the aircraft scale modeling universe and I’m having some trouble with making off the clear glazing on my kits – especially in 1/72 scale! I’ve played around with Tamiya making tape – but with very mixed results so far…

Can anyone share tips or techniques etc? should I be using another material etc?

Thanks in advance,

Noah
AussieReg
Staff MemberAssociate Editor
AUTOMODELER
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Victoria, Australia
KitMaker: 8,156 posts
AeroScale: 3,756 posts
Posted: Wednesday, December 02, 2009 - 08:41 AM UTC
G'day Noah,

I use Tamiya tape all the time. The way I do it is to cut some very thin strips and place these around the edges of the masked areas first. The thin strips are much easier to get in nice and tight and to burnish down with a toothpick. Then I fill in the area with a larger piece or maybe two, which don't have to be cut exactly to shape, they just have to ovelap the edge pieces.

You can see it in this shot af a P-47 where there's multiple small pieces in each square of glass.

If you want to certain that there is no paint getting under the tape you can give the canopy a thin coat of clear AFTER you mask but BEFORE you paint, this seals the edges, then you go around with a sharp knife and cut along the edge of the tape before you peel it off.

Hope this helps.

Cheers, D
jaypee
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Scotland, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 1,699 posts
AeroScale: 1,384 posts
Posted: Wednesday, December 02, 2009 - 08:51 AM UTC
For me it's gotta be Bare Metal Foil.
Just cover the whole canopy and cut away the framing. Simple and quick
BMF is about £5 for a A5 sheet but that'll do loads of canopies.