_GOTOBOTTOM
Start Here (for Beginners)
This forum is for younger modelers or people just starting out in the hobby.
Canopy Help
Belt_Fed
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New Jersey, United States
KitMaker: 1,388 posts
AeroScale: 42 posts
Posted: Saturday, August 02, 2008 - 01:04 PM UTC
I need help with canopies. First off, what is the most stress free way to mask a canopy? My buddies tell me Bare Metal Foil is the best way to go. Is this true?

also, how do you mask the cockpit? Should i glue the masked canopy on the model then spray it?

(Now do you know why im an armor modeler?? )

Thanks in advance

jon
SuccorPhysh
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 82 posts
AeroScale: 81 posts
Posted: Saturday, August 02, 2008 - 05:51 PM UTC
John,
I just tried using the bare metal foil for the first time and found it worked really well. I could not find the chrome colored foil and went with a darker color. I burnished it down to the canopy with a q-tip and found it really highlighted where the panel lines were. In a bright light, the dark color showed the seam between the glass and panel really well. It cut easily with a new blade.
I have not finished painting the aircraft, well actually I screwed up part of it and have been sitting here trying to figure out how to fix it, but I think the canopy will look good. Its the rest of the finish I am now upset with.
I think you should try it.
alpha_tango
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Germany
KitMaker: 5,609 posts
AeroScale: 5,231 posts
Posted: Saturday, August 02, 2008 - 08:32 PM UTC
Hi Jon

The most stress free method is to use Eduards precut Kabuki-Tape masks. (but in some rare cases the do not fit well)

I used BMF for a long time, but this leaves a pretty strong layer of residue on the canopy. This can be easily removed, but since I dip my canopies in Future/Klear this does no longer work as the Klear will also be removed.