_GOTOBOTTOM
Start Here (for Beginners)
This forum is for younger modelers or people just starting out in the hobby.
Superglue Fog?
Tomcat31
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - North East, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 2,828 posts
AeroScale: 1,720 posts
Posted: Wednesday, September 12, 2007 - 10:02 AM UTC
I'm gonna sound like a total noob here but does anyone have any easy solutions to removing superglue fog? The reason I ask is I recently brought down off the ceiling my monogram 1/48 B-17 "Memphis Belle" and the glue gave way leaving me with some wonderfull parting along the join lines. I decided once i've got rid of my backlog i'm going to strip this back and rebuild it but unfortunately the nose and cockpit windows are fogged and i dont really fancy trying to sand them down Any tips would be welcome.
CMOT70
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Victoria, Australia
KitMaker: 629 posts
AeroScale: 539 posts
Posted: Wednesday, September 12, 2007 - 12:36 PM UTC
Noob? Sounds like you play WOW or something!

I've never tried it on clear parts, but i've fixed lightly fogged areas on model car gloss finishes and chrome parts simply by using floor polish. The one i use (we don't have Future/Clear) is called Pledge One Go and is thinner than clear. I guess it's worth trying Future on the clear parts anyway- even if it doesn't work it can just be cleaned off with alcohol anyway.

Andrew.
Roxter
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Rigas, Latvia
KitMaker: 268 posts
AeroScale: 245 posts
Posted: Wednesday, September 12, 2007 - 08:17 PM UTC
I'd try nail polishing sticks and then would use Future on clear parts.
AIRGUNNER
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - South East, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 246 posts
AeroScale: 234 posts
Posted: Wednesday, September 12, 2007 - 11:02 PM UTC
Hi,

Wouldn't it just be easier and quicker to replace with a Vac form canopy. Hannants have them for a B-17G in 1/48 for about a fiver. I am pretty sure in saying the canopy on the B-17 didn't change through the model range.

Steve
Tomcat31
_VISITCOMMUNITY