_GOTOBOTTOM
Start Here (for Beginners)
This forum is for younger modelers or people just starting out in the hobby.
Kit Manufacturers
propwash
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Charente, France
KitMaker: 289 posts
AeroScale: 231 posts
Posted: Friday, July 06, 2007 - 11:03 AM UTC
I gather different companies make different qualities of kits, some more accurate and complicated to build than others.

As an aviation artist, I want to have the most accurate of models, while still keeping within a rather strict budget. With my little experience I have found that the Tamiya kits are extremely well finished. Just looking round on my shelf I have unmade:

1 no Tamiya P-47D Razorback (making now)
1 no Tamiya Mossie (assembled but not painted, and used for a commission drawing)
1 no Airfix P-38
1 no Airfix B-29
1 no Airfix Spit Mk 1(assembled but not painted for a commission ref)
1 no Dragon Wildcat
1 no Haswegawa Ki-45
2 no Acadamy P-51s (a C&D)

Can anyone tell me anything about any of the brands above and which are considered the most accurate?

Cheers,
Prop
alpha_tango
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Germany
KitMaker: 5,609 posts
AeroScale: 5,231 posts
Posted: Friday, July 06, 2007 - 10:08 PM UTC
Hi Prop

there is no company that does not make mistakes. Every model is an artwork of the original (and you will hardly find two artifacts made by man that are totally the same).

With that said very nice models come from Tamiya, Hasegawa, Revell/Monogram, Eduard also Airfix/heller have some really good models, but all of the companies have "dogs". So please be more specific, what you are after.

An example from a discussion here not long ago:

Fw 190 A-8:

The most accurate and detailed Fw 190 A-8 is from Eduard (in my opinion) but it has some strange points too (windshield and probably narrow wheels) It is very complex and has some tricky construction features (remember MS .. it is not a bug, it's a feature).