_GOTOBOTTOM
Start Here (for Beginners)
This forum is for younger modelers or people just starting out in the hobby.
Tips & Hints apreciated
jam2727
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Victoria, Australia
KitMaker: 171 posts
AeroScale: 113 posts
Posted: Friday, June 29, 2007 - 09:18 PM UTC
Hey everyone

I am new to making models. I have bought myself about 10 model kits to start my hobby. 3 tank kits and around 7 aircraft kits, one of which is an academy MIG-21. It is a very simple kit, 5 instructions in total it looks pretty good for a beginner.

I have broused the forums and got myself a couple of modle magazines. so ive learnt a little on how to paint and putty my models. but there is a couple of things i want help on before i do my MIG-21.

1. Do you really have to PRIME your model before you paint
2.what are some good kits for beginers?
3.How many coats of paint should i put on my models?
4.If so what colours should i use?
5.I have some humbrol enamel paints and tamiya thinners, what ratio should i use in my airbrush?
6.Is 4 part acrylic/waterbased paint & 6 part thinners the ratio for acrylic/waterbased paints?
7.how do i weather my models?
8. any other general tips about modeling will be extremly appreciated

P.S. would annyone like to see my unpainted F-16 and tell me what can be done to make it better?

Thanks in advance for whoever helps

James.
goldstandard
_VISITCOMMUNITY
California, United States
KitMaker: 208 posts
AeroScale: 186 posts
Posted: Saturday, June 30, 2007 - 06:13 AM UTC
1. Yes, you should always primer your model before applying paint. A white background layer ensures that brighter colors painted on later will be bright. It also helps in detecting any flaws on the surface that need attention before painting, like scratch marks, insufficiently filled seams, etc. It also aids in leveling out areas where you have done a lot of sanding. Finally, it helps acrylic paints stick to your model better.